top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKim

Little Bit of Pottery

I've had to limit myself to only two mediums, although, within those two mediums there are still plenty of options for creativity.


Let me jump back a bit. At one point I had supplies for scrap-booking, painting, drawing, pottery, quilting, embroidery...I could go on but that's just off the top of my head. I needed to condense what I was hording, (lets just call it what it was!) and limit what I was going to spend my money on.


So I decided that I enjoyed painting and pottery the most, for different reasons. First, I wanted to get better at both mediums, that's important. I was spreading my creativity out with a wide net and even though I was making artwork I was too fickle and would bounce around from one thing to another like an artistic grasshopper.


Painting I enjoy because it is a little more inside my head. I sit down with some music and start mixing colors and painting. Its meditative and contemplative but it takes time to get to where I want it to go.


Pottery I can do something quickly and in a short period of time and feel like I accomplished something. There is more physicality to pottery compared to painting (at least the way that I paint) but its a little more immediate to the completed product than painting is. At least thats the way that I think about it.


My painting does inform my pottery...its not the other way around at this stage but here is some pottery that I thought about with a painterly touch. I haven't painted much in the past couple of weeks but I do have plans to get painting over the next month. I'll post those once I get started.


I wanted to do a mug that featured the Peace River where I live.

In this cup I was experimenting with underglaze techniques and layering


These next two pieces I was playing with textures and finishing. One is a cup and the other is a mug.


These two mugs were experimentation of combining 3D printing and pottery. It is a topographical map of the Peace River.



Lastly here are some bowls that I tried out new glazes with. Love them so much I am keeping them. Most of the time I sell pottery because I would have quite the collection if I didn't but these two pieces I loved a lot.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page