top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKim

Drawing Inspiration: From Kayaking Photos to Paintings

Updated: Jul 26, 2023

Combining my newfound love for kayaking and painting has opened a world of inspiration for me. Exploring nature's wonders on a kayak and capturing those moments through photography fuel my creativity in the art studio. Join me as I share how the excitement of kayaking translates into vibrant paintings.




Kayaking takes me on fun adventures through our lovely northern BC landscapes. Serene lakes and nature's beauty surrounds me andI immerse myself in these scenes, observing the play of sunlight on water, the colors of the sky, and the textures of rocks. These experiences serve as the foundation for my artistic inspiration, as I aim to bring the essence of these moments onto canvas. After I have chosen a picture to work from I create a series of pictures on my iPad in procreate to play with the composition in black and white. My goal is not to copy a photo exactly but to be inspired by it.



During my kayaking expeditions, I always carry my phone, ready to capture flashes of inspiration. Each photo becomes a reference point, reminding me of the emotions and sensations I felt on those adventures. These visual memories guide my artistic process, helping me recreate the atmosphere, textures, and colors that make my paintings come alive.


each of the following photos were from our latest trip to Inga Lake and each has something in it that I thought would be interesting to paint


Rather than replicating scenes precisely, I strive to convey the spirit and energy of kayaking through each painting. Each brushstroke is aimed at capturing the emotions and sense of connection I experience on the water. I use bold strokes, vibrant colors, and dynamic compositions to translate the raw energy of the water and the landscapes onto the canvas.

Going back to the first reference photo and the black and white planning sketches I have started painting with a plan in place. i played with transparent colours and then started adding details.


The last thing I’ve done is gone back into procreate to play with the colours and ideas a bit more before I commit to the paint. So the next image has digital elements to it.


This painting will be one of hopefully, six that I am creating for the upcoming Mastrius Art Show “Captured Moments” that will be opening on July 26-28, 2023.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page